Vintage Non-Sports Cards
Buy/Sell/Trade Vintage Baseball Links Gallery of Non-Sports Cards
Vintage Non-sports Forum

Author   Comment  
MorrellMan

Reply with quote  #1 
I've been collecting tobacco non-sports cards for about 20 years, compared to 60 years for sports cards, so I consider myself a relative newcomer to N and T card collecting.

My attraction to these gems are mainly the beautiful artwork and historical subject matter.  I know these cards were not "collector issues" - they served (at least) two primary purposes.  One was to stiffen the tobacco product packaging and the other was to advertise the product.  Manufacturers happened upon a brilliant idea to keep the product alive in memory.  Long after the cigars were smoked and the pack was discarded, the product lived on in the household on these lovely little cards with an interesting front and product advertising on the back.

Even after pursuing these things for 20 years I still come across cards or groupings that I like, but I invariably walk away when I find that they are "blank backed".  I know the learned scholars of N/T cards legitimatize these blanks backs as often seen on cards (if not outright skinned), but I don't buy it. 

I can understand blank backs being cut from a test sheet or a banner.  I understand that some processes allowed for backs to be applied or stamped later.  And of course the dreaded skinned backs, however....

Why would a manufacturer place a card (essentially an advertising piece) in its product without the advertising?  That doesn't make sense.  Can the experts here on this board set me straight?

Reply with quote  #2