Vintage Non-Sports Cards
Buy/Sell/Trade Vintage Baseball Links Gallery of Non-Sports Cards
Vintage Non-sports Forum

Author   Comment  
nigeldazooman

Reply with quote  #1 

Hi everyone!

Really excited to be joining this forum and a tip of the cap to Phil at Open Binders for pointing me this way!

I am brand new to collecting tobacco cards and was hoping you folks on here might have some advice for me. I picked Allen & Ginter N2, N3, N5 and N15 because I liked those the best.

I have a few questions about collecting in general though, so please chime in with your thoughts!

1. I ordered the first few cards to start my collection on eBay and I'm sure that's a primary collecting source for most. But are there other places worth looking? Things like flea markets and estate sales crossed my mind as places to look but are those actually likely to have much? Or are there other types of stores or locations that would be worth a look?

2. I have seen some of the cards on eBay officially graded by someone like PSA. Is that worth doing with ungraded cards in your collection? For example, if it costs $20 for PSA to grade a card, is it likely to be worth that in the value added by having the card graded? What is everyone's experience with companies like PSA?

3. Are there any sorts of modern price guides (saw the Tobacco Cards book on Amazon from '99, but I'm sure those prices are out of date) or some other method for someone who's new like myself to be able to get a handle on what a particular card might be worth?

4. Any other tips or things that you've picked up in the hobby that would be good to know?

Thanks in advance to everyone for their thoughts! I'm really excited about joining the community.

-Brad

wheatiesfanatic

Reply with quote  #2