Vintage Non-Sports Cards
Buy/Sell/Trade Vintage Baseball Links Gallery of Non-Sports Cards
Vintage Non-sports Forum

Author   Comment  
Greg
Reply with quote  #1 
I've been building a master set of low grade T29's for several years on and off. I'm about half way there, and only have a handful of fronts left. I love the vivid artwork, but there isn't much information available about this set. I've been trying to do some research on this issue, and have not found much (though it did lead me to this forum!). I was hoping some of you fine folks may be able to enlighten me on some of the finer details of this issue.

Does anybody know the origin of the blank backs? They are fairly unique. They do not seem to be scrap or test runs, as they have the factory notations on the fronts. I don't know of any other ATC set like this. Do Blank backs only come with a factory 25 notation?

Has anyone confirmed that a Blank back exists for all of the first series? I have 5. If it does, this puts the master set at 200. 80 Factory 30's, 80 Factory 649's, and the 40 1st series Blank Backs from Factory 25.

Has anyone seen an advertisement on back for any brand but Hassan? I have never heard of one, but the blank backs note factory 25 on front. Factory 25 did not print Hassan cards. Recruit and Piedmont (off the top of my head) were produced here.

Does anybody know the year of issue? As a Hassan and ATC set, it must be from between 1909-1911 (perhaps late 1908 or early 1912), but has anybody been able to narrow down he time frame more? Earlier ATC issues tended to have large advertisements on back (like series 1) while later issues had textual descriptions (though there are exceptions, like the T218 first series). I suspect there may have been a large gap between the two series.